What is DeepL Translator?
DeepL translates typed text, photos, live camera views and files, and includes DeepL Write for rewording. DeepL Voice for Conversations translates in-person conversations in real time from a phone or web browser, with a face-to-face view for passing the phone back and forth. A free version has monthly limits; paid plans raise them and add Voice minutes.
Cost: Free + paid plan (Paid from €7.49 per month). Booking: No booking. Works on: Web, Mac or Windows app, iPhone, Android, Browser extension.
Best for: Travellers who want careful text and document translation, plus captioned face-to-face conversations on a paid plan
How DeepL Translator uses AI
DeepL describes its products as 'Language AI' and 'AI-native translation'. DeepL Voice turns spoken conversation into translated captions in real time, and Write Pro is billed as an AI-powered writing assistant.
Booking: No booking.
Keep in mind
- Free version is capped at 50,000 characters, 1 file translation and 1 saved translation a month
- 30 minutes of DeepL Voice per user a month is listed on the Individual, Team and Business plans, not on Free
- DeepL's April 2026 voice launch is aimed mainly at businesses and teams
Is DeepL Translator free? Cost and plans
Free + paid plan. Free version with monthly limits. Individual plan shown at €7.49/month billed annually on the German pricing page, with a 30-day free trial. The US App Store lists in-app purchases of US$10.49–US$38.00 a month and US$104.99–US$384.99 a year without naming the tiers.
| Plan | Price | Region | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Individual (billed annually) | €7.49 per month | DE | Source, |
Prices are shown in the currency and region the provider published. We do not convert them.
Head-to-head
DeepL Translator alternatives
Tools for a similar task. Sharing a task does not make them interchangeable, so compare what each one does.
Sources
Sources checked . This listing summarises what the provider and other cited sources say; it is not a hands-on test.
- DeepL Pro plans and pricingdeepl.com, checked . Supports: Free version limits, Individual price (EUR, Germany view), 30-day trial, 30 min DeepL Voice on paid plans, Language AI wording
- DeepL Academy: Translate face-to-face conversations on mobiledeepl.com, checked . Supports: Voice for Conversations: real-time in-person translation on phone or browser, face-to-face view, group conversations
- DeepL unveils real-time spoken translation with Voice-to-Voice (Apr 16, 2026)deepl.com, checked . Supports: Voice for Conversations generally available on mobile and web; 40+ DeepL Voice languages; business focus
- DeepL Translate on the App Store (US)apps.apple.com, checked . Supports: Free with in-app purchases (US$10.49–US$38.00 monthly, US$104.99–US$384.99 annual), camera and photo translation, dictation, iOS 17+
- DeepL Translate on Google Playplay.google.com, checked . Supports: Android app with camera, photo, dictation and file translation
- DeepL for Windowsdeepl.com, checked . Supports: Free Windows desktop app; Mac app and Chrome, Firefox and Edge extensions listed in the Download menu
- DeepL for Macdeepl.com, checked . Supports: Free Mac desktop app
What we could not confirm
- US-dollar web pricing not captured; the pricing page served a German/EUR view
- Languages supported by Voice for Conversations specifically are not stated (DeepL Voice overall: 40+)
- Offline support not stated
- The App Store listing does not mention a conversation mode inside the Translate app or offline use
