Naver Papago AI translation app

By NAVER Corp. Sources checked .

NAVER's free AI translator covering Korean, Japanese, Chinese and 11 more languages

What is Naver Papago?

Papago is NAVER's translation app for 14 languages, including Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, Indonesian and Arabic. It translates text, voice, photos, handwriting, websites and documents, and has a one-to-one conversation mode in which both people speak in their own language. NAVER says it can translate offline.

Cost: Free (No paid plan listed). Booking: No booking. Works on: iPhone, Android.

Best for: Travellers to Korea and East or Southeast Asia who want a free phone translator with conversation and photo modes

How Naver Papago uses AI

NAVER bills Papago as 'a smart AI translator'; recent versions add an 'AI Briefing' that recognises products inside Image Translation.

Booking: No booking.

Keep in mind

  • Covers 14 languages only
  • The App Store describes offline use for text translation; offline support for voice, photo or conversation modes is not stated

Is Naver Papago free? Cost and plans

Free. Free on the US App Store and Google Play; no in-app purchases listed.

Naver Papago alternatives

Tools for a similar task. Sharing a task does not make them interchangeable, so compare what each one does.

Sources

Sources checked . This listing summarises what the provider and other cited sources say; it is not a hands-on test.

  1. Naver Papago - AI Translator on the App Store (US)apps.apple.com, checked . Supports: Free, AI translator wording, 14 languages, conversation, image, voice and offline text translation, AI Briefing, iOS 17+
  2. Naver Papago - AI Translator on Google Playplay.google.com, checked . Supports: Android availability, 14 languages, feature list (text, image, voice, offline, conversation, handwriting, website, document)
What we could not confirm
  • papago.naver.com could not be fetched, so the web translator's features were not verified
  • Which languages are available offline is not stated
  • The App Store language list shows 13 languages while the description says 14

Suggest a correction to this listing