The count at a glance
Each of the directory’s 119 current AI travel tools has one booking label, set from what its provider says the product does. About one in four lets you finish a booking without leaving: 8 carry out the steps for you, and 22 let you book in the same app or site.
| Booking label | What it means | Tools | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books for you | The AI carries out the booking steps, such as filling in a form or reserving with a supplier, once you give the go-ahead | 8 | 6.7% |
| You book in the same app | The AI helps you choose, and you check out in the same app, site or chat | 22 | 18.5% |
| Sends you to book elsewhere | You finish on another company's site or app | 26 | 21.8% |
| No booking | Mostly translators (22), document, packing and delay tools (10) and in-trip guides (5) | 44 | 37.0% |
| Not confirmed by the provider | The provider's pages don't say how booking works | 19 | 16.0% |
| All current tools | 119 | 100% |
The directory shows the label on every listing, and its “Books for you” filter returns the same eight tools.
How the count was made
Every number on this page comes from the directory’s own listings as they stood on 21 October 2026. How we research AI travel tools and the editorial policy describe the rules every listing follows.
- What is counted. The 119 listings that are available, in beta or on a waitlist. Four closed, renamed or unverified listings are left out. The directory covers consumer tools whose provider describes an AI feature, so booking sites without one, and tools sold only to businesses, are not in it.
- Where the labels come from. Each listing was researched from the provider’s own pages: help centres, pricing pages, app-store listings and press releases. News reports fill in where an official page was missing or unreadable, and the listing says so. The sources were checked on 15 and 16 October 2026 and are linked from every listing.
- One label per tool. A tool gets the label for the furthest it goes, and any plan it needs is noted. Gemini’s standard flight search sends you elsewhere to book, for example, but its Task feature can carry out bookings on the paid AI Pro and Ultra plans, so Gemini counts as “books for you” on paid plans.
- Unknowns stay unknown. When the provider doesn’t say how booking works, the label is “not confirmed by the provider” rather than a guess.
- No test bookings. A label records what the provider says, not the result of a hands-on test.
- Counted once. In the table by task further down, each tool counts under its main task only.
The eight tools that book for you
Six of the eight are browser agents: they open ordinary websites and click, type and fill in forms for you. Lola and Otto book through the suppliers they are connected to instead. The AI travel agents guide explains how to choose between the two routes.
| Tool | What it can book | Where you approve | Plan needed to book | Where and on what it works |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT (ChatGPT Work) | Tasks on websites, including bookings and payments, in a cloud browser | Asks for confirmation before completing a reservation or payment | Plus (US$20 a month) or Pro | Countries not stated |
| Claude (Claude in Chrome) | Clicks, types and fills in forms on sites you are signed in to | Purchases and other one-way steps wait for you | Pro (US$20 a month) or Max | Google Chrome on a computer |
| Comet (Perplexity) | Multi-step tasks across tabs; Perplexity's examples include booking hotels and flights | Asks before running a task in your browser, and before filling in details it doesn't know | Perplexity Pro (US$20 a month, with monthly limits) or Max | Mac, Windows, iOS and Android; countries not stated |
| Google Gemini (Task) | Searches sites and fills in booking details; watches flight and hotel prices | Hands payment back to you | Google AI Pro (US$19.99 a month) or Ultra | Not the EEA, Switzerland, the UK or Nigeria |
| Microsoft Copilot (Browse with Copilot) | Acts on websites in Edge; Microsoft calls it experimental | Asks you to supervise before it buys or reserves | Microsoft 365 Premium (US$19.99 a month) | US, in Edge on a computer |
| Muse (Meta) | Uses a browser on a cloud computer and fills in forms, for tasks such as booking travel | Checks with you before purchases | None: free with a usage limit; Power (US$20 a month) raises it | Limited testing, rolling out in the US |
| Lola | Hotels, restaurants and activities; no flights yet | Books each piece as you confirm it | None: free membership includes booking | Countries not stated |
| Otto | Flights and hotels for work trips, and rebooking when plans change | Books when you say "book it" | None for the first year, per its homepage; later pricing not published | Markets not stated |
Five of the eight need a paid plan, at about US$20 a month. All five are general-purpose AI products rather than travel services: ChatGPT, Claude, Comet, Gemini and Copilot. The other three start free. Lola’s free membership includes booking, Muse has a free tier with a usage limit, and Otto is free for its first year.
Each one has a point where you approve. Seven say they wait for your go-ahead before a booking or purchase goes through. Comet asks before it starts a task in your browser, and again before it fills in details it doesn’t know. Gemini’s Task leaves the payment itself to you, and Microsoft advises against using Browse with Copilot for financial activity.
Half are limited to certain places or set-ups. Gemini’s Task is not offered in the EEA (the EU plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway), Switzerland, the UK or Nigeria. Browse with Copilot is for US subscribers, Muse is rolling out in the US, and Claude in Chrome works only in Chrome on a computer. Lola and Otto don’t say which countries they cover.
Booking in the same app usually means a travel company’s assistant
Of the 22 tools that let you book in the same app, 17 are features inside another product: a booking site, an airline’s or hotel group’s app, Google Search or Maps, or an AI assistant. Seven of the 22 describe booking or paying inside the chat itself:
- Google AI Mode: US hotels, in English, paid with Google Pay. The hotel or booking partner is the merchant of record.
- MakeMyTrip’s Myra: flights, hotels and buses, with payment in the chat. Myra 2.0 has rolled out in phases since May 2026.
- Priceline’s Penny: compares hotels, flights and rental cars, and Priceline says you can book without leaving the conversation.
- Mindtrip: flights and hotels in the chat. Mindtrip doesn’t sell travel itself, and sometimes sends you to the booking partner’s site.
- Trip.com’s TripGenie: only eSIMs and attraction tickets so far.
- Despegar’s SOFIA: a test in Brazil, which started with lodging paid by Pix.
- GetYourGuide: tours and activities inside ChatGPT, Gemini or Claude, though GetYourGuide doesn’t describe how checkout works.
The other 15 help you search and choose, and you then book in the same app or site:
- Airlines: Air India’s AI.g, Qatar Airways’ Sama and Virgin Atlantic’s Concierge.
- Hotel groups: Marriott’s Ask Bonvoy, Hilton’s AI Planner and IHG’s conversational search, each covering only its own hotels. IHG says booking by the assistant itself is planned.
- Booking and review sites: Agoda, Airbnb, Booking.com’s AI Trip Planner and Tripadvisor’s trip builder.
- Trip planners: Layla, whose travel advisors check and book trips, Pilot and ChooseCruise.
- Two more: Perplexity, whose in-app hotel booking is documented in 2025 but not confirmed for 2026, and Gemini in Google Maps, where the only booking Google mentions is restaurant tables from Ask Maps.
The guide to AI on Expedia, Booking.com and other travel sites compares the booking sites’ assistants.
Apps inside ChatGPT and Gemini hand you off to finish booking
Sixteen listings are travel brands’ apps that run inside ChatGPT or Gemini. Fourteen of them send you out of the chat to finish the booking, usually on the brand’s own site or app; Tripadvisor’s can also send you to a partner.
- In ChatGPT: Accor, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton, Hyatt, Iberia, IHG, Radisson, Trainline, Tripadvisor, Virgin Atlantic, Virgin Australia and Wyndham. Radisson’s booking inside the chat is only planned.
- In Gemini: Viator.
GetYourGuide says you can book without leaving the assistant, and Omio doesn’t say where its bookings finish.
So a brand’s app inside ChatGPT is mostly a way to search: it shows that brand’s options in the chat, then hands you over to book. In ChatGPT, the general-purpose way to complete a booking on a website is ChatGPT Work’s cloud browser on the Plus and Pro plans, and how to plan a trip with ChatGPT covers both.
Most AI trip planners don’t say how you would book
Booking is least clear among AI trip planners. Of the 21 tools whose main task is trip planning, 4 let you book in the same app (Mindtrip, Layla, Pilot and ChooseCruise), 3 send you elsewhere and 2 don’t book. For the other 12, the provider doesn’t say. Across the directory, 15 of the 19 tools marked “not confirmed” list trip planning among their tasks.
Wanderlog, for example, doesn’t say whether hotel bookings finish in its app or on partner sites. GuideGeek says you can “book everything in one conversation” but doesn’t explain how bookings are made or by whom. If booking matters to you, look at where a planner’s booking links lead before you build a trip in it. The AI trip planners guide compares the planners on everything else.
Booking by task
| Main task | Books for you | Same app | Elsewhere | No booking | Not confirmed | Tools |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI trip planners | 0 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 12 | 21 |
| AI travel agents | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 6 |
| ChatGPT, Gemini and other assistants | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 8 |
| AI on booking and travel sites | 0 | 15 | 15 | 3 | 3 | 36 |
| Flight price predictors and fare alerts | 0 | 0 | 5 | 2 | 1 | 8 |
| Translation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22 | 0 | 22 |
| Tour guides and in-trip help | 0 | 1 | 1 | 5 | 1 | 8 |
| Documents, packing and delays | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| All tasks | 8 | 22 | 26 | 44 | 19 | 119 |
The assistants on booking and travel sites split evenly: 15 let you book in the same app and 15 send you elsewhere. Fourteen of that second group are the brands’ apps inside ChatGPT and Gemini.
Flights and hotels: who books which
Flights
- Books for you: Otto books flights for work trips. On paid plans, Gemini’s Task researches flights and starts the booking before handing payment back to you, and Perplexity says Comet handles tasks such as booking flights. ChatGPT Work, Claude in Chrome, Browse with Copilot and Muse act on websites in general.
- In the same app: Mindtrip and MakeMyTrip’s Myra take flight bookings in the chat, and Priceline’s Penny compares flights alongside hotels and cars. The assistants from Air India, Qatar Airways and Virgin Atlantic help you pick that airline’s flights, and Air India’s eZ Booking launched for members of its Maharaja Club loyalty programme. Agoda’s assistant, in beta for some app users, covers flights too.
- Not in the AI: Google’s AI Mode can’t book flights, and Gemini’s standard flight search sends you to the airline or a booking site. Lola says flights are coming soon. For fare alerts and buy-or-wait forecasts, see AI flight price predictors and fare alerts.
Hotels
- Books for you: Lola and Otto, plus the browser agents working on hotel and booking sites.
- In the same app: Google AI Mode (US only), Mindtrip, Penny, Myra and Agoda. Marriott’s, Hilton’s and IHG’s assistants recommend only their own hotels.
- Elsewhere: the Accor, Hilton, Hyatt, IHG, Radisson and Wyndham apps in ChatGPT send you to the hotel group’s site. Booking.com’s app sends you to Booking.com, and Tripadvisor’s to Tripadvisor or a partner site.
Who you are buying from
An AI that books doesn’t become the seller. Google names the hotel or booking partner as merchant of record for AI Mode bookings, Lola’s terms say you book directly with the hotel, restaurant or activity provider, and Mindtrip says it doesn’t sell travel itself. Otto doesn’t say who the seller is, and a browser agent books on whichever site it is using. Changes, cancellations and refunds follow the seller’s rules, as the AI travel agents guide explains.
Limits of this count
- It is a snapshot. Booking features change quickly, and several here are in beta or still rolling out, among them Muse, Agoda’s assistant, Ask Bonvoy and IHG’s search. The counts are checked again whenever a listing’s booking label changes.
- It reports what providers say. Nothing here comes from a test booking, so a feature can work differently, or in fewer places, than its provider describes.
- It covers this directory, not every AI travel product. Only consumer tools whose provider describes an AI feature are listed.
- One label hides detail. A tool that books hotels but sends you elsewhere for flights still gets one label; each listing’s “Keep in mind” notes give the rest.
Common questions
Can AI book flights for me?
A few tools can. Otto books flights for work trips, and on paid plans browser agents such as Gemini's Task and Perplexity's Comet work through booking sites and stop for your approval; Task hands payment back to you. Mindtrip and MakeMyTrip's Myra take flight bookings in their own chat. Google's AI Mode doesn't book flights, and Lola says flights are coming soon.
Can ChatGPT book flights and hotels?
On Plus and Pro, ChatGPT Work's cloud browser can carry out a booking on a website after asking you to confirm, while travel apps inside ChatGPT, such as Booking.com's and Expedia's, send you to their own sites to book. How to plan a trip with ChatGPT covers it in detail.
Which AI travel agent books for free?
Lola's free membership includes booking hotels, restaurants and activities, but not flights yet. Meta's Muse has a free tier with a usage limit and is rolling out in the US, and Otto, built for work trips, is free for its first year. ChatGPT, Claude, Comet, Gemini and Copilot need a paid plan, about US$20 a month in the US, to book.
Will an AI agent pay without asking me?
None of the eight in this count says it will. Seven say they wait for your go-ahead before a booking or purchase goes through, and Comet asks before it starts a task in your browser. Microsoft calls Browse with Copilot experimental and advises against using it for financial activity.
Who do I contact to change or cancel a booking an AI made?
The seller, usually the hotel, airline or booking partner, not the AI company. Google names the partner as merchant of record for hotels booked in AI Mode, and Lola's terms say you book directly with the provider. Check whose name is on the confirmation.
How up to date are these numbers?
They describe the directory's listings on 21 October 2026, whose sources were checked on 15 and 16 October. The page is updated when a listing's booking label changes, and each listing shows when its own sources were checked.
Sources
- Browser (ChatGPT Work)learn.chatgpt.com, checked
- ChatGPT release notes (OpenAI Help Center)help.openai.com, checked
- Pricing (ChatGPT learn)learn.chatgpt.com, checked
- Claude in Chromeclaude.com, checked
- Plans & Pricing (Claude)claude.com, checked
- The New Comet Assistant (Perplexity blog, 6 November 2025)perplexity.ai, checked
- Mitigating Prompt Injection in Comet (Perplexity blog)perplexity.ai, checked
- Computer for Pro subscribers, Computer for Slack (Perplexity changelog, March 2026)perplexity.ai, checked
- Which Perplexity Subscription Plan is right for you? (Perplexity Help Center)perplexity.ai, checked
- Manage tasks and workflows with Task (formerly Gemini Spark) (Gemini Apps Help)support.google.com, checked
- Gemini Spark: new Chrome browsing integration (Google blog, 30 July 2026)blog.google, checked
- Search for flights & hotels in Gemini Apps (Gemini Apps Help)support.google.com, checked
- Google AI plans (Gemini subscriptions)gemini.google, checked
- Browse with Copilot (Microsoft Support)support.microsoft.com, checked
- Copilot Pricing Plans for Individualsmicrosoft.com, checked
- Introducing Muse: The World's First Personal AI Agent Built for Everyone (Meta, 8 September 2026)about.fb.com, checked
- About Muse subscriptions (Meta Help Center)meta.com, checked
- AI assistant for experiences | Lolalola.com, checked
- Lola Terms and Conditions (last revised 16 Sep 2026)lola.com, checked
- Otto - AI Travel Assistant for Effortless Business Travelottotheagent.com, checked
- Book Hotels via AI Mode in Google Search (Travel Help)support.google.com, checked
- 3 new ways to plan and book travel in Search (Google blog, 27 August 2026)blog.google, checked
- Mindtrip Terms of Servicemindtrip.ai, checked
- Mindtrip launches all-in-one agentic AI flight booking experience (6 May 2026)prnewswire.com, checked
- Priceline's Penny Goes Fully Agentic (3 June 2026)press.priceline.com, checked
- MakeMyTrip rolls out Myra AI 2.0 with end-to-end voice booking and payments (FoneArena, 13 May 2026)fonearena.com, checked
- Trip.com case study (Google Cloud)cloud.google.com, checked
- Decolar faz 1ª venda 100% agêntica no Brasil (Hotelier News, 1 Sep 2026)hoteliernews.com.br, checked
- GetYourGuide unveils new tools to help tour and attraction operators... (GetYourGuide Media Center, 15 September 2026)getyourguide.press, checked
- IHG Hotels & Resorts launches AI conversational search across its digital channels, transforming the guest experience (IHG, 28 July 2026)ihgplc.com, checked
- Meet Layla: AI Trip Planner 2026layla.ai, checked
- Air India's new AI-powered virtual booking agent tool launches for loyalty club members (Aviation Business News, 24 January 2025)aviationbusinessnews.com, checked
- Agoda Begins Limited Public Beta of New AI Assistant That Turns Travel Ideas into Bookable Trips (PR Newswire, 15 September 2026)kyodonewsprwire.jp, checked
- Smart trip planning: new Expedia app in ChatGPT (Expedia newsroom)expedia.com, checked
- Radisson Hotel Group and Accenture Redefine Travel Discovery on ChatGPT (joint release, Accenture Newsroom, 28 July 2026)newsroom.accenture.com, checked
- Viator Becomes Google's First Connected App for Travel Experiences (Tripadvisor, 30 July 2026)tripadvisor.mediaroom.com, checked
- Omio launches in ChatGPT (Omio press release via PR Newswire, 14 April 2026)tools.prnewswire.com, checked
- GuideGeek - AI Travel Geniusguidegeek.com, checked